Childcare Council of Central Okanagan (CCofCO)

This program year, the focus of the Council was on networking and management training opportunities to connect the childcare sector’s resources to better support the childcare sector crisis with their struggle to staff newly created spaces. Part of the Council’s work focused on advocating for increased wages to Early Childhood Educators (ECEs). We were also excited to support the four Central Okanagan municipalities with their successful UMBC grant application to receive funding for a childcare needs assessment that will deliver an Action Plan to the municipalities upon completion of the research study in March 2020.

Childcare Council of Central Okanagan Members 2020/2021:

Danielle Miranda (YMCA-O), Lianna Michaylow (OBGC), Terry Russell (OC), Cheryl Fralick and Elizabeth Ulrich (Starbright), Joanne Muller (The Clubhouse), Jennifer Robins (Parent Member), Yvonne Stauble (CCRR), Betty Cleland (ECE Instructor OC and NLC), Tom Clark (City of Kelowna), Holly Flinkman (District of Lake Country) Robert Southam (For the Kids), Cyndy Mymka (Kids’ Place), Rhonda Ovelson (SD23)